A Distant Prospect

April 13, 2008 at 19:56 | Posted in Uncategorized | 5 Comments

Haverigg Beach

I’ve been away from town today but you’re not getting away that lightly! (By the way, I don’t know what others do but I strive in this blog to publish pictures taken on the day of publication.)

I was out walking along the northern side of the Duddon Estuary, which separates Barrow from the Cumberland coast, and caught this shot looking across the estuary from Haverigg beach. It’s not the greatest shot ever, but if you look carefully you can see (naturally) the Devonshire Dock Hall and other features.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I don’t know what others do but I strive in this blog to publish pictures taken on the day of publication

    Grief, I always assumed they were scheduled in big batches on sporadic days when tuits arrive.

  2. This is a great shot. Did you go for a dip?

  3. This is an excellent shot.
    Really like the way you managed to capture the solitude of the place… gorgeous…

  4. It’s low tide, Kris, I’d have had to walk a long way to find enough water to cover my ankles!

  5. I sometimes publish pictures taken the same day (I have just published a photo of daffodils taken 9 hours ago) but I will usually go for a walkabout when I have the time and take a lot of photos, some of which then make it into the blog in the coming days or weeks.

    I’ve got 5 pictures lined up to be published automatically, but I moved them all back to make way for the daffs!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

