Coast to Coast by Bike

May 4, 2008 at 15:29 | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

DSCN2679

It’s a grey and wet day today, which is no excuse for not taking photographs but is a good reason for not going out when you’re feeling less than 100%, as I do (recent virus has left me very drained), so a recycled (ha!) picture for today. In fact, one of the candidates for Thursday’s Theme Day of numbers.

Barrow, or to be more specific Sandy Gap on Walney, is the western terminus of the official W2W Walney to Wear (or Walney to Whitby for masochists – even more of it and even hillier) cycle route. Now and then, parties of athletic young people gather at Sandy Gap, clad in lycra, ready for an epic journey from the Irish Sea, across the highest part of the Pennines to Sunderland at the mouth of the Wear, or Whitby for exquisite kippers and a wind-blown garveyard on a high sea-cliff where you can believe there are vampires.

No vampires in Barrow though.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’ve never heard of the Walney to Wearside walk before. I remember Wainwright started the Coast to Coast which started at St Bees Head and now I’ve forgotten whether it headed across and up to Eyemouth or down to Whitby!

    So much for a warm bank holiday – it’s the proverbial cats and dogs here!

  2. I did that walk 75yrs ago I think, as I was born in Sunderland and came to Barrow with my widowed Mother when I was 3yrs old, and its a long walk when you only have little legs!!!!

  3. Yep, me and 3 pals from Milnthorpe are doing Walney to Whitby. We set off on Saturday 23 May and did 49 miles back to Milnthorpe. We were very impressed with what has been done round by the museum, well done Barrow. We are setting off again on Thursday 28th May and aim to reach Whitby on Sunday 31st. It’s not just athletic young people who do it, I’m in my 60’s and my pals are in their late 50’s. Whilst climbing Bigland Hill, a group of young chaps couldn’t manage it and walked some of the way, but us old codgers managed to cycle all the way.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

