Granite

May 19, 2008 at 15:06 | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Granite pebbles

The pebbles on Walney beach are washed down from the Lake District by the River Duddon and along the coast from the mouth of the Esk at Ravenglass. They include plenty of the granite that forms the central massif of the district, tinted a delicate pink by iron salts.

This was how I knew granite when I was little (my dad showed me what was what) and when I later learned that Aberdeen was known as the Granite City I thought it must be a beautiful place indeed. The grey granite on Aberdeen was a disappointment when I eventually saw it.

Granite is naturally radioactive, from its potassium content.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

