Corporation Bus

May 24, 2008 at 11:56 | Posted in Uncategorized | 6 Comments

Old Barrow Bus

Remember corporation bus services, which provided frequent and cheap local transport in the days before the idea took hold that getting too close to the lower orders was demeaning and Maggie Thatcher abolished them in favour of clogging up the roads with 4 x 4s? We could do with a few more of them now that the oil crisis is beginning to bite (and it ain’t going to let go now, believe me.)

I said I’d grab the chance when the preserved and lovingly rebuilt old Barrow Corporation Transport buses came out to play, and this sunny (but distinctly blowy!) bank holiday weekend is the one where they do so most often. Here we are, in the guise of BCT no 170, waiting in less-than-savoury Cornwallis Street to take the nostalgic for a ride. I’ll leave it up to others to provide the technical details should they so wish. I’ll content myself with a thrill at seeing the inky-blue livery, such a contrast with the sky-blue Birkenhead buses I was used to. (what colour were your local buses?)

They missed a trick though, not showing the colour-coded destination blinds, but you can see there’s no place for a route number.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. All aboard. Helps me to remember ‘On The Buses’. Which one’s Blakey then?

  2. Every morning on the bus I smile to myself and think of Maggie’s line that went something like: “A man who, beyond the age of 26, finds himself on a bus can count himself as a failure”.

    I must admit, at 31, I don’t consider the lack of a car as an indication of failure!

  3. A shade to young to remeber watching on the buses the first time round, but old enough to recall “thatcher thatcher milk snathcer” and the dergulation of the bus service. Don’t get me started , that would be rude on your blog to whinge, but basically, bring back conductors and a decent public transport service.

    Lovely capture and interesinting post is what I meant to say.

  4. Kris, I loathe and destest that woman and when she pops her clogs I shall be at the front of the queue to dance on her grave but it is important to be clear about what she did and didn’t say. And that one about buses predates her by some distance!

    babooshka, you didn’t miss much. On The Buses is the epitome of the seriously crap ITV sitcom.

  5. Oh my goodness, I haven’t seen a double decker bus in years! This is so cute.

  6. Ashton Corporation buses were almost the same colour as this one, slightly lighter blue.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

