Low Tide

June 7, 2008 at 21:43 | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Low Tide

I’m sure I put this up this morning, before I went off to Liverpool.

Anyway, yesterday evening I took this shot of the low tide in Walney Channel. Many Barrovians have boats and there have always been boats moored in the channel. Long ago I thought that they were abandones, and one day I was going to rescue one and sail it away. In the end, although I have sailed it’s been a long time now, and I never realised the legitimate part of the dream. Anybody want crew?

Meanwhile the tidal range in the channel is up to 10 metres at the spring tide, which being a couple of days past the new moon yesterday, this was. Looks like somebody pulled the plug out. Hard to believe that great ocean liners were once launched into it.

An account of my day in Liverpool will shortly be found on the sister blog of this one, Enitharmon’s Cave.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Thats a veiw of what is known localy as ‘Chapple Bed’


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

