Bridge up!

August 14, 2008 at 20:38 | Posted in Uncategorized | 7 Comments

Bridge up!

Here’s something you don’t see all that often – the High Bridge on Michaelson road, connecting Barrow Island to the town centre, lifted to let something through. I don’t know what though; by the time I got there there was nothing to see. Maybe they were just testing it.

The High Bridge dates from the latter half of the 1960s. Its predecessor was a wonderful old iron bridge, the sort of thing I like a lot and which isn’t much appreciated in this country. (The US is different – the first time I went there and took the wonderful Amtrak train up the Hudson I was quite bowled over by all the magnificent bridges.) I recall it being a swing bridge rather than a lifting one, but somebody will be along to put me right I’m sure.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. What’s the blue building please?

  2. The blue building is Craven House, a nasty building of the same vintage of the bridge. It houses a shipping company, James Fisher plc who operate the nuclear transport fleet, and a number of government offices.

  3. I’ve just come back from the hospital, I appear to be fine.
    Jean & ! commented on the “older part” of the hospital built around the same time as Craven House. Modern looking at the time but now appreciably dated and deserving of demolition. Check my Broken Dodge Dart pictures from my 1971 car.

  4. Very intersting photo blog. I have made you my blog of the day. I hope you don’t mind me using your photo. I’ll take it down if you object.

  5. Course you can, Fran! Thanks for the plug,

  6. I was born in Barrow and left in 1945 to join the RN.
    the bridge then was not a swing bridge. It used to lift vertically a few feet and then move along and parallel with the road in the direction away from the town.

  7. That bridge is where the local reliant robin security company love to get you arrested if you take any pictures of that old building on your left to match up with 1900 footage I have of the workers turning out in their thousands. See your other site!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

