6 Annan Street

September 6, 2008 at 21:18 | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

6 Annan Street

Here’s the beginning of a new sub-project, in which I’ll be visiting Barrow locations associated with my family.

This is number 6 Annan Street on Barrow Island. The house where my dad was born on 2 April 1921. His older brother and two younger sisters were also born here.

I have no recollection of this house at all. My grandfather, who had been a keen amateur Rugby League player for Askam, had a stroke when he was 33 and was unable to work. This was a bad situation for a family of six in the 1930s. They were rehoused to Walney, to a house that I do remember vividly, by the time my dad had won his scholarship to Barrow Grammar School.

Dad was always a reluctant re-visitor to Barrow at the best of times, and I have no recollection of any detour to see this house, so I think I can assume that he didn’t have fond memories of his time there. Me, I can never resist seeing places where I once lived.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You’re lucky in a way that your family all came from the local area & that the houses are still standing. My dad’s side came from London & so would be difficult to go hunting them out. That’s if they still exist.

  2. I love how the step is worn!
    I also like the transom window


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

