39 Strathaird Avenue

September 7, 2008 at 17:52 | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

39 Strathaird Avenue

This – and I mean the right-hand house of the pair – isn’t actually where I was born. That was Risedale Maternity Hospital in Abbey Road, and we’ve already done that. But it is the house on Walney that I was brought home to. The house my parents were able to buy after they’d been living in Kent for a couple of years.

I have no memories of actually living there, which isn’t too surprising as we’d all moved again, to Thorne in Yorkshire this time, after I’d been around a year or so. But I do have very pleasant memories of the house because it was taken over and lived in through to the 1970s by Mr and Mrs Moore – Jim and Laura – and their grown up children Alun and Olwyn. They talked funny (they were from Birmingham) but they spoilt me and my sister rotten and were generally exceedingly nice people. Visiting them, which we did sometimes but not always, wasa always a highlight for me of trips to see the family.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Is there a backyard there? I always struggle to imagine what it would be like to be a kid and not have a backyard…

  2. Ooh! thems posh houses them
    coming up in the world

  3. Just came across your blog today. Love it! Now exiled in Nottinghamshire but spent first 18m of my life in…Strathaird Avenue! Needless to say zero recollection thereof. Formative years spent in Storey Square and left Barrow in 1968. Look forward to renewing regular acquaintance with some of the more arcane parts of the town.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

