Fog on the High Bridge

February 2, 2009 at 15:48 | Posted in Uncategorized | 10 Comments

Fog on the High Bridge

It’s been a while. Have you missed me?

I’ve been distracted by other things for a couple of weeks. Not least by maintaining a hand-written journal throughout the month of January, which I suspect stands a better chance of being preserved for posterity than anything electronic. And in similarly luddite vein, I’ve been out and about with my trusty old Nikon (oh how I love its clunky clickiness and its heft in the hand!) and a few rolls of Ilford Delta 100 and 400 which I recovered from my freezer when defrosting it. It’ll be a while before you get to enjoy the fruits of my labours but good things come to those who wait. Deferred gratification and all that. Now, where can I get my hands on an enlarger these days?

Now, where was I? I can’t bring you the much vaunted snow because despite what you may have seen in the news, we haven’t got more than a few flurries. So here’s a shot I took last week of the High Bridge in fog.

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. welcome back. Isn’t it strange that we are over the water in Morecambe and we got a few inches:)

  2. Glad to see you back. Several inches here (Notts). In my youth fog was also a rarity in Barrow, mainly because of the permanent near gale blowing. I once came across an old (1920s/30s) guide to the area which contained the memorable statement “You can tell a Barrovian by the way he instinctively clutches his hat when he comes to a street corner”. Definitely a ‘period’ feel to all that.

  3. Good to see you back in business! Yes, you have been missed. We’ve copped for the snow here in Ashton under Lyne and I will be having snow photos for the next few days!

    Peter – are you sure that wasn’t “You can tell a Barrovian, but you can’t tell him much”? 🙂

  4. I really do like this!

  5. A nice misty shot! Good to see you back!

  6. Welcome back. Who else can I trust for those natural British weather images. It does have a Hammer Horror mist feel.

  7. welcome back , you have been missed .

  8. Go on tell us why the yellow car is parked on the pavement facing the bridge parapet? What was happening there?

  9. I thought it was turning down the ramp towards Hindpool Road. But you’re the taxi driver Bob, you should know! 😉

  10. I have some fog pictures of the lighthouse here in Montauk. I kind of like how the fog pictures come out. But this year I am going on a clear sunny day.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

