It’s Grim Oop North!

February 15, 2009 at 13:41 | Posted in Uncategorized | 6 Comments

It's Grim Up North!

The Nikoff has been idle this week. Instead, when I’ve had time, I’ve been out and about with my Nikon FG and a couple of rolls of Ilford Delta 100. This in turn was a prelude to playing around with my new toys – a Durst G670 enlarger and a whole slew of professional darkroom stuff that came to me from, of all places, Freecycle! And the mail-order chemicals and paper arrived on Friday so then I could really get cracking.

This shot was first out. I took it at the back end of Barrow Island, where the reflection of terrace houses in a big puddle struck me as a terrific subject.. I’ve had the negatives in and out of the tank and hanging over the bath to dry. I’ve turned on the old red light and I’ve made a test strip and I’ve exposed the shot and put it through the three trays and all of the magic and wonder is still there, where it was when my dad used to let me watch him in his darkroom (with a home-made enlarger made from bits of wood and war-surplus optics and an ancient bellows camera, all sliding up and down the tube from a vacuum cleaner. He’d have envied me this lot.)

Cracking stuff, Gromit. Going back to the Nikoff will be so dull – surely I can’t be the only one to feel this way?

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Bresson is alive and kicking I see in Cumbria. One of your best and no surprise why when I read the post. Digital really is soulless unlike this image.

  2. Very nicely done. And I say that as one who used to develop his own film and print all of his photos…no more! I love digital! And Photoshop.

    But I think you may be the next Ansel Adams!

  3. Absolutely brilliant. Years ago, I threw out my Gnome enlarger plus all the B&W darkroom accoutrements that were purchased from a guy from Ormsgill. Now I am full of remorse and regret.

  4. grim.and I like it!

  5. I wouldn’t be tempted myself but I certainly admire you for getting your hands dirty in the darkroom (so to speak) – great imagery.

  6. Thank you. Beautiful!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

