End of the day

March 26, 2009 at 23:22 | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

DSCN3856

It’s been a stormy, on-and-off kind of day and anyway I’ve been away in Lancaster for most of it. All the same, it was nice to see the sunset this evening.

In the middle of the picture you can see HMS Astute, whose nuclear engines are about to undergo testing. If they haven’t already. Yesterday a slip of paper dropped through my letter box, telling me that it was part of an exercise to simulate the speedy distribution of potassium iodate tablets in the event of a nuclear malfunction. I’m normally phlegmatic about these things but when I see phrases like “extremely unlikely”, “extensive safety measures” and “technology” in the same sentence I tend to panic.

This colourful sky is not, however, thought to be caused by a malfunction of Astute’s power supply.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I really like this photo a lot, as I do most of yours!

    I like the idea of nuclear engines being tested next door. It all sounds rather exciting…


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

