Washing Day

March 31, 2009 at 14:40 | Posted in Uncategorized | 12 Comments

dscn3860.jpg

And so Pie ‘n’ Mushies, officially known as Barrow Day-by-Day to keep the City Daily Photo people happy, marks its first birthday with another of those quintessentially Barrovian scenes – washing hung out over the close in the Barrow Island flats. And what a lovely day to get your washing dry too.

Well, we made it through a whole year. I haven’t been as assiduous in keeping it up every day as I originally planned, and I let it lapse for a whole month recently, but we’re still going (despite the filthy rotten cold I find myself with on the anniversary) and I’m delighted to have gathered a loyal following. It’s a poor day when the blog doesn’t get 100 hits and even if I don’t always join in the conversations it doesn’t mean I don’t appreciate you. Whether the posts bring back memories of the old home town, or if you just look in for the pictures, I’m happy to have you here to share and look forward to the next year in the life of an overlooked English town of great character.

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. thanks for a great year! it’s always fun to see the photos you post! I live in the states, my grand-dad was from Barrow, so I visit family there every few years…it is a lot of fun for me to see the town from afar!

  2. Great pic, can I nik it and use it on southlakes with a credit to you please

  3. ‘Course you can, Bill.

    How’s life without the radio?

  4. Life without radio is like a fish without water. Back taxi driving for now and have taken over bobs taxitales where he lefgt off so look out for some interesting reading on Bobs site posted by me starting tomorrow
    http://www.taxistorys.blogspot.com

  5. Cute photo. Did you hear what a boy shirt said to girl’s blouse? No? Well, it went like this: “Hey, would you like to hang out together?”

    Sorry. I’ll try to do better in the future!

  6. Happy birthday and congratulation.

  7. Congratulations on your 1st anniversary! I don’t get to visit or comment often, but thank you for taking the time to post photos of your town, a place I have not heard of before your blog — not surprising since I’m on the other side of the world!

    And your photo looks just like many apartment buildings here in Metro Manila 😀

  8. Congratulations on the first year. As a Barrovian in exile I have enjoyed the blog immensely. Hope the warm weather helps the cold.

  9. I’m on Manx time again and late with everything. Huge congratulations on the first year. I am honoured to call myself a follower. It is a step back in time to a world to me that feels even before my youth. This glorious image alone is something I would seldom have seen. Not just the brilliant photography but it’s the narrtaive I enjoy immensely. Stirling job showing a gem of a town that many in the UK, let alone the world will not have known.

  10. I have not been to barrow for years, in the early 50s
    I lived in barque street and the photo of the washing hanging in the close was a real memory jerker
    for me. Can you tell me the name of the street on your picture please

  11. That is Steamer Street

  12. Thank you enitharmon, I think I would have seen that
    close from my window


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

