Remnants of Industry

May 28, 2009 at 14:05 | Posted in Uncategorized | 6 Comments

DSCN4048.JPG

I have a great affection for old industrial landscapes and there are plenty of those still around Barrow. This building is down the Cavendish Dock Road, a short walk from the town centre, and also carries a reminder of the days when the central areas of Barrow were riddled with railway lines. This one is still in use, for a purpose many may find somewhat sinister as I hope to reveal before too long.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. sinister ?

  2. As a Brummie dragged up in the Black Country I too have a soft spot for scenes like this. Manhole covers saying made in Cradley Heath, Brickhouse, Dudley make me smile. Now though I’m intrigued by the sinister!

  3. Could this be something that comes via rail from the East Coast of Scotland by any chance?

  4. I live on the East Coast of Scotland, whatever are you talking about Malcolm, or am I still wet behind the ears ?

  5. Depends where you live Jeff, I was thinking of a railhead south of DUNBAR, but on reflection think that goes further up the coast from Barrow, if you get my drift.

  6. Um, South of Dunbar and North of Barrow, who needs the sun, it’s all left me positively glowing !!!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

